Homesickness

Posted on 06/10/2011. Filed under: Frustration, Life in General |

There are moments here in Mexico that I feel very homesick.  It’s hard being away from family, friends and everything you know.  Even harder still when it’s hard to communicate with the people around you.  There are many times during conversations when I feel completely like an outsider.  Life here is very different from in the US.  People here often work six days a week (12 hours each day)  even though their salary is for five 8 hour days.  A pair of ‘decent’ shoes is about what one person makes here in a day.  If I worked the same amount in the states as I do here, I could earn enough at minimum wage to have a nice apartment, a car, etc.  Here however, there is just enough to pay for utilities and a little more.  If we didn’t have a house here that was already paid for we couldn’t afford to live here.

Today, on two different occasions, I was asked the same question that everyone seems to love asking me.  “Do you like Mexico?”  If I hesitate at all with a response (or say, “sort of”) people try convince me of why Mexico is wonderful.  The sad thing is that these people really believe it.  Yes, there are some parts that are beautiful, but as a whole, Mexico City is not beautiful.  It’s the same as most VERY large cities – dirty, noisy, rude, etc.  When I try explain why I miss my country and how nice it is, they look at me like I’m crazy, except when I mention my kids & family, and only then do they understand.

Right now, I feel rather traitorous because I want to go back to the states and I don’t want to be here anymore.  However, my husband can’t go back right now – which leads to these feelings of being torn.  I don’t want those feelings to turn to resentment.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Homesickness”

RSS Feed for Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings Comments RSS Feed

Hang in there kiddo. 🙂

Doing my best, though sometimes it’s tempting to just move back to the states and deal with separation.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 137 other followers

  • Cafe Aletris

  • Copywrite Notice

    © Aletris Vazquez and Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Aletris Vazquez and Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Are You Meant for Something Better?

I committed myself to a number of things in order to live a full and prosperous life: Follow my dreams, wish on rainbows and never wear sweatpants in public.

Lake Superior Spirit

Blogging from the Upper Peninsula North Woods...

One Book on the Shelf

The Bookshops of London

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

