Living in a New Country

Posted on 09/06/2010. Filed under: Life in General, Moving |

So, it has been almost two months since my last post.  Now that the move is complete I’m realizing how many things I wish I had kept/brought with me.  Living here in Mexico City definitely requires more than just a bit of adjustment.  It’s a darned good thing for me that I have had to deal with moving and challenges before.

There are certainly some great things about living here in Mexico City.  Being able to get to know my husband’s family is certainly a major plus.  Seeing all the museums, parks and trying all the local cuisine is another plus. We are also able to occasionally visit other areas of Mexico, although right now that’s limited to when he is going on his ultramarathons (more on this in a later post).

Learning a new language is nice, but it is definitely challenging.  My desire to learn the language is driven not only by the desire to talk  more easily with my husband’s family, but also by the need to be able to talk with people in everyday situations.  It is very frustrating to be unable to express myself in the clear and understandable manner I am accustomed to.  I am getting better at giving people a rough idea of what I want to say, but that’s about it.  It feels strange to know what I want to say in my head, but to be unable to actually form the sentences in my new language.  It is almost like saying “I make recipe. Butter in pan over flame. flour and spices in pan.  chicken in sauce.”  All in all, it is rather frustrating since I tend to think of myself as reasonably articulate.  What’s more is I want to be able to speak more clearly before I start school to be an English teacher – and that is one month away!

Other challenges lie in figuring out where to buy things.  Most neighborhoods have at least one of each of the following: vegetable/fruit store, bread store, tortillaria (store that makes tortillas),  hardware store, papellaria (sells mostly school supplies), pharmacy, and various other miscellanea stores as well.  However, that said, some things you would be sure you could find in one store just aren’t there, and instead are somewhere you would never expect. (Like when I was looking for scissors and the store that sold fabric, pins, etc. didn’t have them – instead they are in the hardware store.) Then there is the Tianges (a sort of traveling farmers market/flea market) Also, in the shopping district downtown, there are entire streets devoted to just one type of store (such as: electrical, plumbing, kitchen appliances, shoe stores, etc.) Sometimes it is cheaper to buy at those stores, other times it is cheaper at tianges, and still other times [rare] it is cheaper to buy at a place like *ugh* Wal-mart.

Add into all of this the fact that we’ve just adopted not one, but two part belgian malinois   puppies from a rescue. Our poor cats aren’t so sure about their new family members.  Also, our neighborhood is full of relatively young families so there are many fiestas that last late into the night and are accompanied by LOUD music.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 137 other followers

  • Cafe Aletris

  • Copywrite Notice

    © Aletris Vazquez and Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Aletris Vazquez and Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Are You Meant for Something Better?

I committed myself to a number of things in order to live a full and prosperous life: Follow my dreams, wish on rainbows and never wear sweatpants in public.

Lake Superior Spirit

Blogging from the Upper Peninsula North Woods...

One Book on the Shelf

The Bookshops of London

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

