Moving to Mexico

Posted on 31/03/2010. Filed under: Life in General, Relationships | Tags: |

The last 4 months have been incredibly busy for me.   Some things that occurred in December have lead to some very big changes.  My husband has been in Mexico City since just after Christmas.  I went down in January to visit him and make sure that I would be comfortable with living there.  While I was down there we discussed the best way for me to complete the move.  Our lease ends April 30th and I wanted to visit again at least once before my final trip.  So we decided it was best for me to work all of February and then see him again the beginning of March and have my final trip in April, just before our first anniversary (April 18th).

The month of February was crazy busy.  Trying to get things together for my trip (including getting things arranged to bring our cats down) took a lot of time.  At work it was almost time for quarterly returns/salvage processes and I wanted to have everything complete before I left.  It was especially important since we had two people out on maternity leave and human resources was dragging their feet trying to find a replacement for me (and I was the only supervisor at the time).  Because of all the activity, stress and heavy lifting I didn’t realize that I had a kidney infection until two days after I arrived in Mexico.  Thankfully my husband’s family knew a good doctor and she was able to see me right away.  Six days of gentamicin shots later and I was feeling great.  That set us back a little bit with the things we were trying to get done, so I had to change my return flight.  When I left last week we had purchased our furniture, tile for our kitchen, painted all but one of the rooms, and started staining the furniture.   The place is really looking nice, and I’m excited to return. (though mostly because I want to be with my husband!)

Now that I’m back in Baltimore till the 7th of April I feel like everything is on fast-forward.  I have to decide what to pack, what to store, what to have friends/family bring when they visit and what to get rid of.  I also have to get taxes done, get an Apostile done of the translation of our marriage certificate, cancel the utilities, re-paint the apartment, and help my daughter move.  I feel like a week isn’t enough time.  I’ll be happy when I’m done and on my way back down to Mexico!

Two years ago I never would have believed anyone if they told me that I would be moving to Mexico this year.  Even six months ago I would have been skeptical.  Now I’m well on my way to moving and hopefully becoming an immigrant to Mexico.  I have been doing my very best to learn Spanish, by using Rosetta Stone, a Spanish verb workbook and – most importantly – talking with my husband and his family in Spanish as much as possible.  When we first got married I used to say “Sólo sé una palabra y para explicar es necesito a aprender doce más” (I only know one word and to explain it is necessary to learn twelve more) but now I probably know over 60 words.  It may not seem like all that many, but considering the fact I only knew about 20 when I first arrived there in January it’s a good start.  My husband is currently studying to become an English teacher and will graduate in June.  I will be starting a similar course in July, only mine is a full-time course (all day Monday – Friday).  This certainly will be a change of pace from living in the USA and working as a pharmacy technician.

The hardest part of all this is the fact that my kids and grandson will be here in Maryland so we won’t get to see each other as often as we used to.  It’s hard on all of us, though we don’t talk about that a lot.  I’ll miss all my friends as well.  I’m giving away almost everything in my apartment, but thankfully the kids are all taking the family heirlooms.  It’s really hard to leave almost everything you know behind.  Thankfully my dad taught me how great an adventure that life is and how to adapt when everything changes.  It really helps that his family likes me and that they are so warm and welcoming.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 137 other followers

  • Cafe Aletris

  • Copywrite Notice

    © Aletris Vazquez and Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Aletris Vazquez and Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Are You Meant for Something Better?

I committed myself to a number of things in order to live a full and prosperous life: Follow my dreams, wish on rainbows and never wear sweatpants in public.

Lake Superior Spirit

Blogging from the Upper Peninsula North Woods...

One Book on the Shelf

The Bookshops of London

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

