My Daughter Graduated Basic Training! Hooah!!

Posted on 05/11/2006. Filed under: Kids |

This last Friday (Nov 3rd) my daughter graduated BTC (Basic Training Camp). She is now at Ft. Gordon waiting for her AIT (Advanced Individual Training) to start. She was in good shape when she went in, but over the course of 9 weeks in BTC she has gained 10 more pounds of muscle and passed her fitness test with flying colors… in spite of tearing a ligament in her hip, which kept her on crutches for 3 weeks.

I am incredibly proud of her decision to serve our country and doubly proud that her Drill Instructors and Commanding Officer had wonderful things to say about her – not to mention the fact her CO was encouraging her to get things in order so she can put in for Officer Training School. She was well liked by the other memebers of her unit as well.

Being back on base and being around all the military families brought back a lot of memories for me. I hadn’t realized how much I’ve missed that lifestyle. When my daughter was in the process of joining her recruiters were encouraging me to join as well. I toyed with the idea and dismissed it, thinking that I was a little old. There was a lady in my daughter’s unit who is 2 years older than me, and another lady in the graduating class that is 4 years older – the maximum age (42) to join. Both ladies made it through just as well as the young recruits. During the time I spent with my daughter I talked with her and my ex about all the pros and cons of joining. My Ex husband spent 13 years as an enlisted person in active duty Army and is now an officer in the National Guard. He will be back on active duty status by summer of next year. So he has a lot of experience and knowledge about the Army and I trust his advice.

So…. Within the next 3 weeks I will get scheduled to take the ASVAB (Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery) to see what jobs they have to offer. If the offer is a good one, then I feel it is in my best interest to join. I would have the opportunity to have a career that I could retire from with full benifits (including health) before age 60, real training for my job, work with professionals who know how to conduct themselves properly, excellent health care, more vacation time than in the civilian sector, job advancement is pretty much a given as long as you do your job well and continue to strive for more, then there’s the camaradarie and sense of family, the opportunity to see new places… the list goes on. My kids will be moving with my ex when he goes active duty, so I’ll have to fly them to see me anyway. So… we will see what the next couple of months bring.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “My Daughter Graduated Basic Training! Hooah!!”

RSS Feed for Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings Comments RSS Feed

OOH RA!!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 137 other followers

  • Cafe Aletris

  • Copywrite Notice

    © Aletris Vazquez and Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Aletris Vazquez and Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Are You Meant for Something Better?

I committed myself to a number of things in order to live a full and prosperous life: Follow my dreams, wish on rainbows and never wear sweatpants in public.

Lake Superior Spirit

Blogging from the Upper Peninsula North Woods...

One Book on the Shelf

The Bookshops of London

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

