Ok… I am alive after all… I think…

Posted on 27/06/2006. Filed under: Life in General |

This past Sunday I went to the Washington D.C. International Wine and Food Festival,  which was great fun.  Being able to sample many different wines and chat with other people who enjoy wine is always enjoyable.  I went with my friend Jim and three of his friends, though I broke off from the group for quite a while when I started talking to an interesting yet inebriated man (who was dissapointed later that I didn’t want to give him my number).

After we were done there Jim drove us back to Baltimore and we stopped at B’s for dinner, which was very enjoyable.  Our course of conversation ran the gamut from predators in society to food and wine to all sorts of other subjects.  When we got back to Jim’s I called it a night since my daughter was begging for me to take her to the store.  It’s probably a good thing I did, though I didn’t know it at the time.

I woke up at 6:00 not feeling ‘right’ and it definitely wasn’t a hangover…  by almost 7:00 I had called out of work, though I felt bad doing so.  But before 8:00 rolled around I was very happy I had called out, since the rest of the day was spent battling the effects of food poisioning *whee* what fun!!  By the evening I was finally able to eat a little something (thanks to some promethazine I had in the house, not to mention someone wonderful making food for me and taking care of me).  Today I am feeling better, though still ‘as weak as a kitten’ and I am determined to go to work tomorrow.  I feel terribly guilty for calling out sick (me a workaholic?? perish the thought!! *laugh*) but there was no way I could do any good there feeling this way, and that would have left me feeling even more useless.

Today has been spent lounging around, drinking herbal tea and gingerale, eating bits of stuff, reading, playing soduko and sleeping.   Hopefully I will be feeling better in the morning so work won’t be too bad… Everyone at work thinks I’m crazy for wanting to come in, but I hate to use my vacation time for something that is NOT a vacation at all.  Of course it’s also a day when two of the most stressful Pharmacists are working… I must be crazy *laugh*

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Ok… I am alive after all… I think…”

RSS Feed for Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings Comments RSS Feed

Ugh, sorry to hear about your illness! Food poisoning is something I’ve managed to avoid in my many years, though I’ve seen the misery of other with it. Of course, I filled that void with alcohol poisoning many times. I don’t recommend either. Feel better!!!

Thanks Dave, Fortunately I am on the road to recovery. I’m also going back to work today (not sure if it’s wise, but oh well). Nice to know that someone cares *smiles*.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 137 other followers

  • Cafe Aletris

  • Copywrite Notice

    © Aletris Vazquez and Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Aletris Vazquez and Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Are You Meant for Something Better?

I committed myself to a number of things in order to live a full and prosperous life: Follow my dreams, wish on rainbows and never wear sweatpants in public.

Lake Superior Spirit

Blogging from the Upper Peninsula North Woods...

One Book on the Shelf

The Bookshops of London

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

smitten kitchen

Fearless cooking from a tiny NYC kitchen.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

