That Great Little Place

Posted on 27/04/2006. Filed under: Life in General, Relaxation |

No… I’m not talking about something naughty, so get your minds out of the gutter!! *LAUGH*

Everyone has a great little place that they enjoy going to.  It doesn’t matter if it’s a bar, coffee shop, eatery, park or whatever.  For some reason or another it’s far better than any place you might otherwise go for the same thing.  We enjoy it, we relish having that great little place to go to after a rough day or on our day off.  In fact, we like it so much we want to share it with other people…. and there’s the problem.  If too many people find out about that great little place, it soon becomes to busy to have the qualities that we liked so much about it.   So, what do we do?  Keep the place a secret, even though we know some of our friends would really enjoy it? Or should we just tell people with the idea that since the place is great eventually a lot of people will find out about it anyway?

I used to go out to karaoke every Tuesday night.  I didn’t go on Fridays because it was too crowded.  However, because I really enjoyed it, and it’s always more fun if you have people there you know, I told my co-workers about it.  For a while only a few people would come and then they’d stop, but then a larger group came once and now it keeps getting bigger.  Some of the people moved on from my place of work to other jobs and now they are bringing people from their places of work as well.  SO… now the very reason I avoided Friday nights (too many people and not enough time singing) has made Tuesday nights not as much fun, so I don’t go then either.  I’ve been away from it for so long it may have changed back to normal, but I’ve lost my desire to go, partly because my work hours have changed, partly because I found other things to do on those nights, and partly because I don’t remember it so much the way it was when I first was enjoying my time there.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “That Great Little Place”

RSS Feed for Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings Comments RSS Feed

*sigh* I miss karaoke, too. I stopped going not because of the crowds, though that lady who lived next door and wandered into one of our parties and left with some guy who got arrested and we never have seen again who started going there with HER friends who would try and take our table every week and point and whisper about us had SOMETHING to do with our departure, it was mainly pregnancy, and my attempts to stay away from alcohol. Don’t get me wrong: I don’t need booze to have fun, but it sure as shit helps at karaoke!!!!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 137 other followers

  • Cafe Aletris

  • Copywrite Notice

    © Aletris Vazquez and Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Aletris Vazquez and Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Are You Meant for Something Better?

I committed myself to a number of things in order to live a full and prosperous life: Follow my dreams, wish on rainbows and never wear sweatpants in public.

Lake Superior Spirit

Blogging from the Upper Peninsula North Woods...

One Book on the Shelf

The Bookshops of London

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

