Rant on new mothers

Posted on 25/04/2006. Filed under: Frustration, Kids, Work |

Today was a rather frustrating day.  There’s a lady that I work with who recently came back from maternity leave and is constantly calling home to check on her baby (which is a bit understandable since it’s her first child).  However, she’s also constantly calling to make appointments, check with family members about schedules, etc.  and she’s only working 2 days a week.  The rest of us aren’t supposed to be making personal calls or reading magazines (which she also does) unless we’re on break.  She also can’t be disturbed to check things (which is her job) while she’s on the phone. *grr*

Then add into this, she’s constantly asking people’s advice about her child, especially me (since I am one of the only ones there with a child – and I have FIVE kids of my own).  HOWEVER she then doubts anything you tell her.  Why ask if you’re going to disregard everything someone tells you?

Why do new moms ask for advice of people and then disregard it because their doctor (who is tired of having them call 16 times a week) hasn’t told them to try what the person is suggesting?  I don’t mind giving advice but I do mind when someone asks me the same thing over & over and then has to ask everyone’s opinion on the advice, only to ask me again. I’m half tempted to give her a book on parenting and tell her if she has any questions to consult that or her doctor, but not me.  My favorite thing is that she thinks the formula might not be agreeing with her daughter, so I told her to try something else, possibly something soy based to rule out lactose intolerance, which won’t hurt a darned thing but could help a great deal…. and her response was “well, that’s so expensive, what if it works?” *rolls eyes* Hmmm… comfort and well-being of my child or a bit higher a price for formula…. I think I’d take the comfort and health of my child on that one.  Plus, if she tries it and it doesn’t help at least she KNOWS it’s not a problem with lactose. *eh* ah well… Cest La Vie!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 137 other followers

  • Cafe Aletris

  • Copywrite Notice

    © Aletris Vazquez and Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Aletris Vazquez and Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Are You Meant for Something Better?

I committed myself to a number of things in order to live a full and prosperous life: Follow my dreams, wish on rainbows and never wear sweatpants in public.

Lake Superior Spirit

Blogging from the Upper Peninsula North Woods...

One Book on the Shelf

The Bookshops of London

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

