Teenagers

Posted on 11/12/2005. Filed under: Kids, Life in General | Tags: , , |

I started an interesting adventure yesterday afternoon.  My 16 year old daughter was having a sleepover and I was playing designated taxi for the teens that were coming who didn’t have cars of their own.  At one point I was picking up these two boys, one 18 and one who is 20 and they started talking about how I’m a MILF… scary… I have a son the same age as the younger one.  Sure it’s flattering knowing that someone young thinks you’re hot, but it was still disturbing.

All in all the sleepover was pretty easy to handle.  Fortunately they were all only interested in watching movies, listening to music and eating junk food.  One kid’s mom kept calling every half hour to check on her… Um, hello? If you’re unsure of your child being at someone’s house, go over and see how things are or don’t have them go.

I’ve always been pretty comfortable with my daughter and her choice of friends.  They all look a little different, but then I have some clothes from hot topic too.  They have quite a few more piercings than I do, or they have one or two piercings that are gauged.

You can’t judge what kind of people they are by the way they dress… my daughter was wearing her usual of trip pants, a tank top, her pink and black converses and slightly creepy eye makeup a few weeks ago… We were on the way to her school and we passed an accident that had just occured.  She noticed that the person who was helping one of the drivers wasn’t stabilizing the lady’s neck (the woman had hit her head on the windshield and the driver’s side window).  My daughter insisted we stop so she could help the woman.  While my daughter stabilized the woman’s neck I wound up getting a blanket from someone at the scene and put it over the woman since it was cold that morning.  My daughter made sure no one tried moving the woman from the car until the paramedics arrived at the scene and took over.  Then she went to sit with me and try calm the woman’s daughter while we waited for her father to get there.  It’s great knowing that my daughter cares enough about other people to want to help like that.  Yeah, I’m proud of her.  The paramedics and police officers thanked my daughter for what she did and one of them told her she liked her makeup *grins*

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 137 other followers

  • Cafe Aletris

  • Copywrite Notice

    © Aletris Vazquez and Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Aletris Vazquez and Random Thoughts, Rants and Mental Meanderings with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Are You Meant for Something Better?

I committed myself to a number of things in order to live a full and prosperous life: Follow my dreams, wish on rainbows and never wear sweatpants in public.

Lake Superior Spirit

Blogging from the Upper Peninsula North Woods...

One Book on the Shelf

The Bookshops of London

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

smitten kitchen

Fearless cooking from a tiny NYC kitchen.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

